Paleo / Primal Lifestyle – Why am I even here?

Go back 12 months and I was a hefty 70 kgs. The heaviest (apart from when carrying my babies) I had ever been in my life. And none too happy about it. Feeling bloated, gross and unhealthy. Something needed to change. Thankfully, my brother-n-law Joel had recently lost 10 kgs over the previous two months. What was his secret? I wanted to know. This was the first time I had heard of the Paleo movement and he kindly pointed me in the direction of Mark’s Daily Apple. What an eye opener, reading all the success stories and seeing first hand the amazing things that can happen when one follows a natural, unprocessed diet the way nature intended – I was intrigued.

I can remember thinking at first, well, I will just try this on myself – obviously I’ll still feed the kids bread and pasta. There seemed something a little strange about bypassing a whole food group after all!

And of course, getting over my own mindset of not having toast for breakfast, sandwiches for lunch and pasta or other carb for dinner was at first a huge hurdle! Looking back now I can’t believe how much wheat product I crammed in my body three meals a day. No wonder I was constantly bloated and gassy. I just thought this was how I was meant to be. Having been like this all my life I didn’t even realise that there was something wrong, that how I fed my body was hurting my insides.

So with little steps at first I began replacing bread with ‘paleo / primal’ substitutes. Cos lettuce leaves instead of bread for BLTs, tacos, sandwiches. Eggs and bacon for brekkie without the toast (gee that was HARD!), eating more salads and soups and going back to meat and 3 veg for dinner. My husband sure was happy about the increased meat intake! No more crappy Quorn, or vegetarian products for us!

I don’t much like substitute ‘paleofied’ baking. I can’t STAND paleo bread, cakes, muffins. I’ve tried lots of recipes and really they never taste the same. You always feel like you are eating something second class. Yuck. I’d rather go without or treat myself occasionally.

Now, I would love to be able to feed my family an entirely organic, grass-fed, pastured based diet but unfortunately I find organic produce in this country way too expensive. So this year we are making a compromise. All our milk is now organic, un-homogenised kind (raw milk is illegal in Australia), we are buying our meat from either the local organic butcher or grass-fed steaks and mince from Aldi, and organic eggs. And I have just found that Woolies stocks 1kg Organic Frozen Mixed Veggies for $4.99 so we are getting a little bit of organic veg. That’s the best we can do living on one income and I’m pretty happy with that. I can really taste the difference in the milk and meat and it is worth the extra cost.

I still struggle with temptation. Even though I had a brekkie today of eggs and avocado in an effort to resist the lovely baked goodies on offer at play group today I still succumbed to temptation and had a small slice of cake. Immediately regretted due to the bloating up like a balloon effect, but I’m not going to beat myself up about it – that’s why I created this blog. To keep me on track. To help me reach my weight and health goals.

I still need to get my children eating better but on a whole they don’t eat much ‘junk’ food at all these days. Funny how I now look at eating a sandwich as junk! I think I’ve come along way in 12 months, but there is always room for improvement.

Fast forward 12 months and I have managed to keep off 6kgs. I had lost up to 8 kgs however sickness at the end of last year took its toll. Now my biggest challenge is wine and sugar. I’ve given up the sugar for Lent and as a result just not drinking as much coffee as I used to – win, win really. But the wine, oh I do love a glass or two of wine at night whilst cooking dinner with my hubby once the kids are in bed. Its just so damn relaxing. But unnecessary and that is what is really holding me back in losing those last 6 kgs, that and not having done any exercise for months upon months. So this is my challenge. Keep up the fitness and cut back on the wine.

Baby steps, baby steps. One day at a time.

One thought on “Paleo / Primal Lifestyle – Why am I even here?

  1. Pingback: Now That's What I Call a Bacon Sandwich! | FunPhotoLolzFunPhotoLolz

Leave a Reply

