Honey Dijon Creamy Chicken and Veg Crockpot / Slow cooker Recipe

I was searching the internet for a creamy chicken casserole that could be ‘ primal – ized’ and having very poor luck. Most of the recipes I chanced upon (thank you Pinterest!) called for a tin or two of some revolting, overly processed condensed soup. Have you ever read the ingredient list on the back of one of those cans? I’m trying to limit the amount of junk I put in my body so this was not going to do!

This is what I came up with from the scant ingredients from my fridge and I’m pretty happy with how it turned out! Even my poor old hubby who really prefers a steak, pork chop, hunk of flesh loved it!

Ingredients
~ 2 large skinless chicken breasts, sliced
~ 1 large zucchini, sliced
~ 2 large carrots, cut into rounds,
~ 250 g mushrooms, sliced
~ 1 large onion, thinly sliced
~ 1 1/2 cups chicken stock
~ 1 tbsp dried thyme
Sauce
~ 250 ml sour cream
~ 2 tbsp honey
~ 3 tbsp Dijon mustard
~ 1 1/2 tbsp arrowroot / tapioca starch

Place first 7 ingredients in slow cooker on high 3 – 4 hours. When cooked mix sauce ingredients and add to slow cooker. When sauce is thickened you are ready to serve.

This was really delicious !

20130307-140609.jpg

One thought on “Honey Dijon Creamy Chicken and Veg Crockpot / Slow cooker Recipe

Leave a Reply

