Meatza, yeah baby!

Well, what a week. Just been to the doc as kids still sick and my little guy has his first ever ear infection. Oh the joys of kindy! As a result I haven’t been up to date recording my menu planning. But I can say with some excitement that last night we had meatza for dinner!

You know, the grain-free, meat based pizza. Oh my goodness, it was so yummy. If you ever embark on a Primal-esq diet and find yourself craving some old standbys then Meatza is the answer!

20130314-134622.jpg

My hubby absolutely loves Meatza, this one tasted just like the real deal only more filling. And you aren’t left with that awful, bloated, dissatisfied feeling. It really is a guilt free indulgence!

Here is the recipe I devised based loosely on a recipe I found from Marks Daily Apple which you can find here

Meatza Recipe

Ingredients

BASE
. 500 g grass-fed mince
. 1 egg
. 1/2 tbsp dried thyme
. 1 tsp dried oregano
. 1 tsp sea salt
. 1 garlic clove, crushed

TOPPINGS

Any of your favourite toppings could be used. This time I used:

. Thinly sliced tomato
. Tomato paste to cover base
. Shredded salami
. Shredded ham
. Sliced capsicum
. Sliced black olives
. Thinly sliced white onion
. Sundried tomatoes
. Mixture of grated cheddar and Parmesan cheese to top
METHOD

Mix base ingredients well. I find by hand the best way.

Spread onto a 20 x 30 cm metal slice / lamington tray that has been lined with grease proof paper. Wet your hands to help spread to the corners.

Bake in a very hot oven (220 DC , 450 DF) for 12 minutes or until cooked through. By this stage it will have shrivelled away at the sides and be quite ‘juicy’. Drain off the juice and put down a fresh piece of baking paper. Transfer base back onto tray and load up your toppings except cheese.

Put pizza back in oven for 5 min to cook ingredients.

After 5 min top with cheese and bake another 7 – 10 min, or until done.

Bon appetite!

N.B. the only change I would make next time would be to choose a fattier grade of mince as the mince I did have was a little too lean. Hope you enjoy 🙂

4 thoughts on “Meatza, yeah baby!

    • That’s why I call myself ” primally” Paleo. The Primal diet ( see Mark’s Daily Apple) does allow small amounts of cheese provided you can tolerate it, which thankfully I can 🙂 but you could easily leave the cheese off. Wouldn’t be as good tho!

  1. Pingback: Cauliflower Pizza Supreme | Ms "Primaly" Paleo

  2. Pingback: Lovely Summery Paleo Zucchini and Mint Soup | Ms "Primaly" Paleo

Leave a Reply

