A Simple Paleo Citrus Lime And Orange Cake

I have really surprised myself. Somehow, I’ve managed to come up with a paleo baked recipe that I actually like! Knowing I had friends dropping around but too lazy to go to the shops I raided the pantry and fridge to see what I could find. With one old orange and one lime fresh from the neighbours tree here is what i came up with it.

INGREDIENTS

. 1/2 cup coconut flour
. 1/2 tspn baking powder
. 1/2 sea salt
. 6 eggs
. 3 tbspn honey
. 3 tbspn maple syrup
. Juice of 1 medium orange
. Juice and zest of 1 lime
. 1/4 cup coconut oil
. 1 tspn vanilla

METHOD

1. Sift first three ingredients in a bowl
2. In separate bowl whisk together remaining ingredients
3. Combine wet and dry ingredients and when a smooth batter is formed pour into 20 x 20 cm square greased baking tray
4. Bake for 30 – 35min at 180 degrees.

I was a little naughty with this cake and decided to glaze it with some lime flavoured icing (definately NOT paleo approved but a treat nonetheless) as I was serving it up to some non-Paleo friends and wanted something that was at least gluten free for myself. I’m sure this would be lovely on its own served up with a little naturally-sweetened whipped coconut cream.

20130605-124449.jpg

Leave a Reply

