Cauliflower Curry direct from the Paleo Pantry

Well, I’m still working my way through my enormous cache of 98c cauliflowers and here is my latest creation – Cauliflower Curry. Although, I must admit I made it pretty mild so my kidlets would eat it up so perhaps I should call it ‘Cauliflower in a Savoury Coconut and Tomato Sauce’. Mild though it was, it was really, really tasty and the kids (a 2 and a 4 year old ) ate the whole lot which actually surprised me a little bit, there was a teensy amount of chilli in it after all!

I really do love one pot dishes. This one was particularly great as the only chopping involved the cauliflower and an onion. Everything else came from a spice jar, a can or the freezer – pretty easy indeed! Next time I might use actual garlic cloves and fresh ginger and chilli but this is what I was able to rummage up in the ‘paleo pantry’ and somehow it came together quite nicely 🙂 I also think some freshly chopped coriander at the end would really lift the dish – I didn’t have any and it was still fine.

INGREDIENTS

. 1 onion, finely diced
. 2 tbspn olive oil
. 2 tspn curry powder
. 1 tspn ground cumin
. 1 tspn ground coriander
. 2 tspn garlic powder
. 1/2 tspn ground ginger
. 1 tspn, sea salt
. Hot chilli flakes, to taste
. 1 medium head cauliflower, cut into small florets
. 270 ml can lite coconut cream
. 400 ml tomato passata / purée
. 1 1/2 cup frozen green peas
. Juice of one lime

METHOD

1. Heat olive oil in large fry pan and lightly sauté onion in the olive oil. When translucent add all the spices and fry for a few minutes. Add the cauliflower to the pan and stir well to coat the cauliflower with the onion spice mixture.
2. Add coconut cream and passata to pan and let simmer for 15 minutes
3. Add frozen peas and cook for a further 5 minutes
4. Squeeze a lime over the pan and serve immediately. Bon appetite!

20130725-181856.jpg

20130725-181913.jpg

Leave a Reply

