Seriously Addictive Paleo “Muesli Bars”

20130810-143214.jpg

20130810-143223.jpg

This week I decided to try my hand at making some paleo-fied muesli bars. I’ve had two huge bags of un-opened pepitas and sunflower seeds just begging to be transformed into something. And by chance, I also had quite a bit of dried fruit and other goodies to create a wholesome and tasty Paleo treat. This is actually quite a rare occurrence. I seem to always be running out of key and vital ingredients and I usually try to avoid the shops at ALL COSTS, on account of having two very highly spirited (read naughty) little children who delight in getting up to mischief! Bless them 🙂 Sometimes its just better to make do then brave the outing, if you know what I mean.

This muesli bar is extremely easy. Just throw the ingredients into the food processor, mix in the coconut and pepitas by hand and press into a tin. No cooking required! Hoooraaayyy!!!!! I first made this on Tuesday, by Wednesday it was gone, eaten up by the hungry hoards. I then made a batch yesterday as I was catching up with a friend. ALL GONE. So I have made yet ANOTHER batch this morning for a breakfast catch up with friends. What can I say, so easy and so tasty. Their popularity speaks for themselves. I will be making these little beauties again and again and again 🙂

INGREDIENTS

. 1/2 cup raw almonds
. 1/4 cup pitted dates
. 1/4 cup sultanas
. 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
. 2 tbspns chia seeds
. 1 – 2 tbspns honey
. 1/2 tspn vanilla
. 1/4 cup pepitas
. 1/4 cup desiccated coconut
. extra coconut, pepitas and sunflower seeds to garnish (optional)

METHOD

1. Blitz the first five ingredients in the food processor until very finely chopped
2. Add 1 to 2 tablespoons honey blitz again until the mixture clumps together in a kind of dough
3. Transfer to a bowl and mix in the coconut and pepitas by hand
4. Press into a loaf pan that has been lined with grease proof paper so the paper overhangs the side of the pan. Using the overhang of the paper helps avoid sticky hands!
5. Sprinkle with the seeds and coconut and press in again.
6. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes and then lift out of tin with the greaseproof paper and cut into squares.
7. Keep un-eaten portion in the refrigerator – if you have any, that is …

Each time I have made these I varied the recipe slightly. For example, today I ran out of dates so I replaced these with dried apricots. Yesterday, I added some chopped apricots in at step 3 to add some more texture. Any dried fruit would work well. I’m keen to try some crystallised ginger next and also do one with some tahini paste instead of the honey. I’ll let you know how they turn out!

3 thoughts on “Seriously Addictive Paleo “Muesli Bars”

  1. Pingback: Paleo Carrot Cake Balls | Ms "Primaly" Paleo

Leave a Reply

