Lovely Summery Paleo Zucchini and Mint Soup

20130905-151227.jpg

I’ve just realised that I have been writing this blog for six months now. I am firstly utterly astounded by how time is rushing by me, I can’t quite believe it’s been that long. Secondly, I am rather amazed that I have kept at this little pursuit for so long! Writing this blog has been a great motivator for me as well as a place to record and write down all my little cooking ideas. I often refer back to particular recipes I use over and over again, particularly my MEATZA recipe, yum yum!!

Anyhow, the other day I made zucchini chips that were a great success after buying a whole bucket of zucchini for $1.99. I still had loads left and whipped up this great little soup for lunch. The best part was harvesting the mint I have somehow managed to not yet kill in my little herb garden. I was feeling pretty pleased with my self 🙂

INGREDIENTS

. 1 kg zucchini, chopped
. 1 large onion, finely diced
. 700 ml good quality chicken stock
. 1 tspn garlic powder
. 1 tspn ghee (or cooking fat of choice)
. salt and pepper to taste
. chopped mint to garnish
. natural yogurt, optional (omit for full paleo version)

METHOD

1. Melt ghee in fry pan and sauté onions until translucent
2. Add zucchini, sprinkle over garlic powder and stir to combine
3. Pour over stock and bring to boil
4. Once boiling simmer 7 mins or until zucchinis are just tender
5. Allow soup to cool before blitzing in food processor
6. Return to pan to heat and then serve with chopped mint and a dollop of natural yogurt, if desired

This soup made a thoroughly enjoyable lunch. Bon appetite!

2 thoughts on “Lovely Summery Paleo Zucchini and Mint Soup

Leave a Reply

