Retro Beef and Pineapple Casserole ala Paleo

Thank you Nana P! And Mum too! I loved your classic, quintessential retro-gold Aussie casseroles growing up and this one has NOT let me down.

I did not need a recipe for this dish. Growing up it was chopped up beef, a tin of crushed pineapple and a packet of French Onion Soup chucked all in together into a Corningware dish and bunged in the oven – so, so easy and crazily delicious. I’m pretty sure this recipe actually did make it into the St Stephen’s Coorparoo Anglican Church Recipe Book circa 1970 with my Nana’s name attached to it, a worthy honour. I should check with my minister if I can pinch it to put up on my blog, I’m sure he won’t mind:)

Since starting on this Primal journey I have not made this yummy casserole as a packet of French Onion soup has too many artificial or gluten containing ingredients in it. However, I found this fantastic recipe for French Onion Soup from the blog Towards Sustainability and now nothing is going to hold me back from creating fabulous, retro yummies!

The best thing about this casserole is there is no browning of meat required nor any chopping of vegetables! It is absolutely the easiest casserole you could ever come across!

INGREDIENTS

. 500 g diced beef (blade or chuck is perfect for this recipe)
. 1 400 ml tin crushed pineapple in juice
. 1 portion French Onion Soup Mix *

METHOD

1. Place beef into casserole and sprinkle over soup mix, stirring to coat.
2. Add crushed pineapple and place into pre-heated oven at 200 *c
3. Bake 1 1/2 – 2 hours until tender

I served this delightful meal with steamed broccolini and white rice. This would have been great with cauliflower puree or a root vegetable mash, if I had had the time or inclination!

I sincerely hope you enjoy this lovely dish, my wonderful mum and nana (God rest her soul) would be so pleased 🙂

* FRENCH ONION SOUP RECIPE (makes equivalent of one store-bought packet)

. 2 tbspn dried onion flakes
. 4 tspn dried stock powder (choose one with all natural ingredients)
. 1 tspn onion powder
. 1 tspn garlic powder
. 1/8 tspn celery salt

20130909-203437.jpg

20130909-203452.jpg

20130909-203504.jpg

4 thoughts on “Retro Beef and Pineapple Casserole ala Paleo

  1. Hey Robin, did you know that I was the compiler and editor of that recipe book? I sold them for $3.95 each to raise money for the mothers union. Had to use an old typewriter and these weird old copy sheets things that we then put through a metho press at the church to print. The we had to locate a big stapler to put it all together, – I got our bible study group to do that, and the binding. I still use my book today cause all the recipes are tried and tested many times. Some interesting names in there as well.

  2. I’ve got Mum’s old copy of that cookbook and have used it several times. As you say – retro gold! Many of the recipes call for canned soup of some kind, but there is a great Primal dessert recipe in it too – Avocado Gabrielle!

  3. Helen, that is so funny I did not know that, although I do remember seeing your name on some of the recipes. I really must get my hand on a copy again. Fiona I demand you make me Avocado Gabrielle! Then I can add to this blog, lol!

  4. Pingback: A Delightful Paleo and Broccolini Tuna Salad | Ms "Primaly" Paleo

Leave a Reply

