Paleo Chia Seed Crackers

20131005-151922.jpg

I usually don’t particularly like chia seeds. They are ok if a tablespoon or two are thrown into a muesli bar or something, I can handle that. But, I have made, or at least attempted, a few paleo type ‘puddings’ made from chia seeds and coconut milk. I even went to the effort of slow cooking a pumpkin in the crock pot to make pumpkin puree as in Australia you just can’t go and buy a can of pumpkin that doesn’t bloody well cost $15 and has to be sourced from an American supplier! We just don’t do pumpkin pie in Australia, much to my regret. Anyhoo, each and everyone of my attempted chia seed purees has basically tasted and had the consistency of frog spawn – utterly revolting, blech, yuck, gross!

The end result is that now I have a huge stash of chia seeds that need to be used up in a far more appetising way and I am so thankful that I have made up a delicious cracker recipe that is actually fantastic! Grain free, gluten free, lactose free – what’s not to love? These were fantastic with a sweet potato and cashew dip I bought that is quite paleo friendly and I can’t wait to replicate in the kitchen – yum!

INGREDIENTS

. 1/2 cup chia seeds
. 1/2 cup pepitas (pumpkin seeks)
. 1/2 cup walnuts, roughly chopped
. 1 tbspn onion flakes
. 1 tspn garlic powder
. 1 cup water
. 1 tbspn wheat free tamari / soy sauce
. large sprinkle of Japanese ‘Furikake’ seasoning (basically shredded nori seaweed and sesame seeds), optional

METHOD

1. Preheat oven to 150*C
2. Mix all ingredients together and stir until well combined
3. Line a large baking tray with baking paper and spread mixture evenly onto tray with a knife or spatula until about 0.4 cm thick
4. Place in oven and bake for 30 mins. After this take out and with a sharp knife cut into cracker sized pieces. Turn over carefully with a spatula and return to oven for another 30 mins. Allow to cool in tray and then serve with your favourite cheese or dip.

I really felt like adding some Japanese flavouring to this cracker to resemble a ‘sembe’ or Japanese rice cracker. These were excellent. Next time I will leave out the soy sauce and nori and make a more ‘plain’ cracker that goes with all the dips. My hubby and I actually ate these crackers spread with butter and vegemite – it was our version of a a ‘Paleo’ vegemite sandwich – oh my goodness it was wonderful.

This batch made a huge amount so I ate the rest the following day for breadfast with dip – it was actually quite excellent and a unique way to eat breakfast.

On an interesting side note, I am writing this blog whilst hubby and four year old son are watching the Rugby League grand final – Manly Sea Eagles vs Sydney Roosters – hubby is training son well – he is ‘beering’ him – aka son runs to fridge and gets dad a beer – not very paleo – but oh so cute! Lol. Gotta love family xx Hope you all have a lovely day and God bless.

Leave a Reply

