A Primal Sweet Potato Bake – Absolute Heaven

20131114-205505.jpg

20131114-205617.jpg

It’s been a little while since I wrote on this blog. Things have been kinda hectic lately with prep interviews and mornings for my little guy at his school for next year (how is he 5 already???), social visits and job applications to do, along with just the usual stuff. I always say I’m a Stay At Home Mum but I really do not stay home much at all:) Crazy days. But good ones, awesome infact. What a wonderful world we have been given and how better to enjoy it with good food. I made an utterly delightful sweet potato bake tonight that I just had to write down – this one is a keeper. It was just so satisfying and delicious. I made this with purple-skinned, white fleshed sweet potatoes but they would be absolutely great with the ordinary orange variety as well.

INGREDIENTS

. 2 small sweet potatoes
. 1/2 onion
. Grated cheese
. 1/2 cup sour cream
. 1/3 cup milk
. Salt and pepper
. Olive oil

METHOD

1. Grease a 20 cm x 20 cm ovenproof dish with olive oil. Peel and thinly slice sweet potatoes and onion.
2. Add a layer of sweet potatoes and then top with the sliced onions. Add another layer of the sweet potatoes and top with grated cheese. (I used approximately 1/2 cup). Season each layer well with salt and pepper.
3. Whisk sour cream and milk together and spoon over the top. It will not cover the entire dish.
4. Bake for 1 hour in a hot oven at 200*C.

This was a lovely sweet and savoury dish. It was very comforting but light on the cream so not too bad, in my opinion anyway 🙂 Its a recipe that’s definitely on the fringe of primal with the cheese
and cream. Mark’s Daily Apple has some good information on whether dairy is primal or not. Meanwhile I will just have to cut back as I will never fully be able to give up my milk and cheese! However, I have already decided that next time I make this I will make a full paleo version with coconut cream and curry spicings instead of the cheese and milk. I can’t wait, it’s going to be great!

20131114-210426.jpg

One thought on “A Primal Sweet Potato Bake – Absolute Heaven

  1. Pingback: Sweet potato bake | Ms "Primaly" Paleo

Leave a Reply

