Minted Garam Masala Spiced Lamb Koftas

20131209-203527.jpg

The main reason I love keeping this blog is because I can record my recipes down for easy reference later on. I’ve made lamb koftas so many times but I am always racking my brains what I put in them the last time! I have also made them very successfully with a pre-mixed greek seasoning as well as ones with sumac, pine nuts and mint. These ones were deliciously spiced with garam masala and mint from the garden and tasted just fantastic.

INGREDIENTS

. 500 g lamb mince
. 1 large onion
. 1 tbsp garam masala
. 1 tspn garlic powder
. 2 tbsn mint, finely chopped
. 1 tbsn lemon juice
. olive oil

METHOD

1. Grate half the onion and chop the remaining half very finely.
2. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and mix well by hand.
3. Form into 8 even sized patties, place on tray and chill in fridge for 30 mins.
4. Fry in a little olive oil until browned on all sides and cooked through.

I was going to serve this with a yummy mint and cucumber raita but unfortunately the yogurt was not tasting too fresh. Nevermind, they were lovely on their own with a somewhat random mix of fresh salad ingredients – tomatoes, coleslaw and some yummy beetroot with marinated persian feta and mint.

I was so happy to come accross a new, completely paleo product “Love Beets” Beetroot – simply vacuum packed, cooked beetroot – no added anything! This is an enormous relief to me as the other day I was checking out the ingredients on the back of the tin of beetroot in the supermarket and lo and behold, it now contains High Fructose Corn Syrup – an Australian made tinned beetroot – I hadn’t realised we had gone down that Yankee route yet of adding that hideous stuff to everything and I had basically resigned myself to not eating beetroot anymore. Hooray for “Love Beets”! Cos, lets face it, I do not have time to prepare and cook my own beetroot 🙂

20131209-203544.jpg

3 thoughts on “Minted Garam Masala Spiced Lamb Koftas

  1. Pingback: Cooking With Italian Herbs – Mint | jovinacooksitalian

Leave a Reply

