Middle Eastern Inspired Lamb Meatballs with a Green Olive and Watermelon Salad

20140117-103317.jpg

This will probably be my last blog post for a while.

After 5 full-on yet wonderful years of full-time motherhood I am about to go back to work as a Japanese teacher! Thankfully I only have a 5 week contract, full-time at this stage so there will be an end in sight!! Reflecting back on the years I’ve had at home I am just so happy with my decision to be there for them in their formative years (and be in a position to afford to do so) and effectively be my own boss. REally, whilst you have the stress of tantrums and bad behaviour, sometimes long and boring days you are also able to make your own decisions and set your own schedule everyday without somebody else dictating what must be done, no sales targets (when I was in banking), no rude customers or students – just a lot of love and free time to spend with your children in their formative years. I have been BLESSED and I truely mean that. But all good things come to an end and I am also excited about returning to work, recreated as a language teacher. It will be a challenge and I’m defiantly anxious but I am ready and looking forward to it too. So wish me luck and I’ll see you in a few months most likely!

INGREDIENTS

LAMB MEATBALLS

. 500 g lamb mince
. 1 tbsn pine nuts, roughly chopped
. 3 tbsn pistachios, roughly chopped
. 1/4 cup dried apricots, chopped
. 1 small onion, very finely diced
. 1 tbsn sumac
. 1 tspn dried mint

WATERMELON SALAD

. Handful of mixed mesclun leaves
. Sliced watermelon
. Spicy green olives, thinly sliced
. Cucumber, diced
. Sliced green onions (scallions)
. “Moro” white wine Italian dressing

METHOD

1. Mix all ingredients together very well by hand and form into small patties.
2. Fry or grill in a little olive oil until golden and cooked.
3. Serve with a side of watermelon salad.

I did not put down measurements for the salad as it was literally a salad made on the fly with a handful of lettuce leaves, a few slices of watermelon, probably 4 thinly sliced green olives, a 1/4 of a cucumber and a splash of a pre-made White Italian salad dressing which contains only white wine vinegar, grape must and grape juice.

Please feel free to adjust the ingredients for the meatballs – had I had more pine nuts then a teensy amount left in the bottom of the packet I would have used them. The mixture of the nuts and apricots with the lamb and sumac was a winning combination – loved it!

It was actually a very easy and completely fantastic, gourmet dinner for a week night. Can I be honest and say after a really long day (I already made a few meals at midday for friends with bubs(and bad, bad backache I was contemplating getting a takeaway tonight – but after weighing the options, pizza, hamburgers, chicken and chips – just couldn’t bring myself to do it and dictated my ideas for the recipe to my darling man – thankfully he recreated what was in my head to perfection. Yum, what a great dinner! Thanks babe 🙂

20140116-205118.jpg

Leave a Reply

