Peach Paleo Danish

20131023-201539.jpg

Here is a delightful Peach Danish that I used to make before going primal. A little while ago I attempted to ‘paleoize’ it by converting the SR Flour component to almond flour. It sucked. Splodgy, wet, squidgy – not nice. My in-laws, whom I made it for, were very nice and ate some though!

So next time I vowed to make it with coconut flour, as anybody who has ever cooked with the stuff knows just how well it soaks up the liquid. It’s kind of a miracle substance, really very strange to work with. I did my research and armed myself with a coconut flour conversion chart which I pinched from
Salted Paleo and I am so happy to report that the Danish turned out beautifully.

INGREDIENTS

. 1/2 cup coconut flour
. 1 tsp baking powder (aluminium and gluten-free)
. 1/4 cup honey
. 75 g grass-fed butter, melted and cooled
. 5 eggs
. 1/4 tspn almond essence
. 825 g peach slices in fruit juice with no added sugar (do not choose ones in syrup), reserve liquid
. toasted, slivered almonds, optional

METHOD

1. Pre-heat oven to 180*C and grease a 16 x 16 cm square pan well with butter (or oil)
2. Mix honey, butter, eggs and almond essence together in a small bowl
3. Add to coconut flour and baking powder and mix well. If the batter is dry add some reserved peach juice. I used 6 tspn here but be careful as the peach slices add moisture to cake.
4. Roughly chop peach slices and add half to mixture, stir carefully to combine
5. Spread out in pan and distribute remaining peach pieces evenly, gently pressing into batter. Sprinkle over slivered almonds, if using
6. Bake for 25 – 30 minutes until slightly brown on top

This time I did not have any slivered almonds to sprinkle over the dish unfortunately and I must say they really make the dish taste like an authentic ‘danish pastry’. I did miss them but it still tasted fantastic as is. In the old days I used to glaze this with a thin lemon icing which of course was amazing, but you really don’t need it.

I made this ‘danish pastry’ for my littlies whom I promised a picnic under our gorgeous, blooming, purple jacaranda tree in the backyard. All the crazy hassle with fighting and screaming and cranky little kids was worth it in the end when we could sit on our blanket, stare up at the sky, listen to nature, eat something yummy and have flowers fall on our head at the same time. It ended up being a pretty special morning.

Bon Appeit!

20131023-202247.jpg

8 thoughts on “Peach Paleo Danish

  1. Love your recipes. Totally jealous of your jacaranda tree. Down where it is colder it won’t grow. And I tried. 😦 But thanks for the ideas. 🙂

  2. Do you know the conversion numbers for the butter and peach sllces?
    (I live in the USA.) I need to find a conversion chart that I can post inside my cabinet!

Leave a comment